Somerset County DWI Trial Victory, Not Guilty

I have not been posting as regularly as I like, but I have a number of DWI results to report, including a DWI trial victory in a Somerset County Municipality. My client was charged with DWI, speeding, reckless driving, and no insurance. It was clear that there was no possibility to resolve the matter pre-trial and we elected to try the case. Following an evening hearing, the judge reserved his decision and we received word a week or so later that my client was not guilty on all charges. I real nice trial win when it appeared we were “up against it.”

Also, in a Union County Municipal Court, represented a defendant charged with DWI with a fairly high reading and a very bad accident. She was facing at least seven months, maybe more on the suspension if the reading (Alcotest) came into evidence. I was able to make a motion to suppress the readings and since the State could not rely upon them, a three month suspension was imposed, saving my client possibly 9 months on her suspension and the imposition of an ignition interlock.

I had a similar outcome in an Essex County Municipality. My client was charged with a 2nd tier first offense and I was able to suppress the readings based upon a discovery issue. State could only rely on the observations, which were pretty solid for the prosecutor. Saved my client months on the suspension.

A great result in Hudson County, where my client was charged with 2nd degree aggravated assault. Case dismissed following months of pre-trial negotiations.

I have some more results to post soon.

Leave a Reply

