Weight Limitations on Bridges
The bottom line is that these can be very, very expensive tickets if not handled correctly.
If a motor vehicle weighs more than the posted gross weight limit of the bridge, than such vehicle may not be driven over a bridge in the state of New Jersey.
A warning sign must be posted clearly and at the last safe exit or detour preceding the bridge, indicating the maximum weight permitted on the bridge.
Under State v. Wallach, the Wallach court ruled that if the bridge is under jurisdiction of a county, then the approval of the State Commissioner of Transportation is not required. The court also upheld the county’s responsibility under New Jersey state law to regulate governing the use of bridges under its care and control. Under a more recent case, State v. Horn, both the County Court and Appellate Division concluded that county police officers possessed the authority to enforce weight limitations on county bridges.
The penalty for a violation of weight limitations on bridges is a maximum fine of $1,000. In the event that you violate the weight limitation statute and default in the payment of the fine, the court must order jail time of up to 10 days.
Additionally, a vehicle may not exceed the weight limitation on an interstate bridge owned or maintained in whole or in part by the State of New Jersey, as long as the weight limit is posted clearly. If the vehicle’s weight surpasses the limit by more than 3%, both the driver and the owner of the vehicle will be fined two cents per pound for each pound of excess weight (when the excess is 10,000 pounds or less), or three cents per pound for each pound of excess weight (if the excess is more than 10,000 pounds).