After the initial shock of having been arrested for DWI in Westfield NJ, it is likely that you will want to know what can be done to either beat the DWI charge or mitigate the penalties. As an initial point, it is important to have an understanding of the major penalties you face for a DWI conviction. Remember, conviction is different from arrest. You are not guilty or convicted of DWI until you lose at trial or you plead guilty. When I embark on the representation charged with DWI, I choose to believe that neither will happen because I have had tremendous success defending those charged with DWI in Westfield and throughout New Jersey. This is because of the DWI training and experience I have.
Here are some of the penalties you can face:
- First offense carries a license suspension revocation for minimally three months and up to one year. The time of suspension depends on the Alcotest (Breathalyzer) BAC readings. The admissibility of these readings is crucial to every case. Additionally, there is a $3000 surcharge, 12 to 48 hrs in the IDRC, Fines and fees totaling approx $800 (depending on the case), ignition interlock (a huge inconvenience), possible jail (up to 30 days). These are the major penalties. However, there are others as well
- Second offense (if convicted) is a mandatory 2 years loss of license, up to 90 days in jail, mandatory ignition interlock, 48 hrs in the IDRC or two days jail, community service, and similar financial penalties as laid out above. Once again, these are the highlights, there are other penalties not listed here.
- Third or subsequent offense is mandatory 10 year loss of license, mandatory 6 months in jail, ignition interlock, and a host of other penalties. Obviously, the jail time and loss of license is the main issue here.
Many attorneys claim to be DWI attorneys. The truth is that only a handful can say that they have the proper certifications and training to actually go to trial on a DWI case, and fewer can say that they win DWI trials. I win DWI trials and have the training. Knowing how to establish reasonable doubt (both during negotiations with the prosecutor and cross-examination) is incredibly important since there is no plea bargaining NJ Driving While Intoxicated offenses. There must be a credible legal defense to dismiss or downgrade any DWI charge in New Jersey.
Hiring a lawyer who knows what issued to look for beyond the obvious is paramount.
I am certified in:
- The administration of the Alcotest by DRAGER
- The administration of the Standardized Field Sobriety Tests by NHTSA
- Certified HGN, Horizontal Gaze Nystagmus Test
You will have many questions that need answering. I am available to help