Challenging Field Sobriety Tests

field_sobeirty_test (2)I am uniquely qualified in the area of standardized field sobriety tests. My certifications and training give me the ability to cross examine police officers in a way that (in my opinion ) many attorneys can’t.

The standardized field sobriety tests are scientific test. The walk and turn, the one leg stand, and the HGN were developed in a laboratory setting applying the same instructions and using the same criteria to assess performance over and over again. Accordingly, it is required that the police officer administering the tests stick to the same criteria.

I can safely say that I have never crossed examined an officer who stuck to the rules when it came to administering and scoring the tests. There are always problems with the administration of the tests. Knowing what those problems are is how I make my living. You would expect that every lawyer claiming to be a DWI attorney world also be aware of ALL the issues. This is not the case.

There are a lot of considerations involved in choosing your attorney. My point is that when you make that choice, be certain that the counsel you choose is properly qualified and has the experience to adequately represent you during a trial, because it’s not always about pleading out.

Especially with first offense Dwi charges where I can suppress the Alcotest, or with second and third offenses where the penalties are not tiered, going to trial happens more than one would think.

Leave a comment